PDA

View Full Version : Simply used before?


Chunky
09-03-2002, 09:30
The money was ready, and the move was made. I ordered my MSI645 from Simply Computers on the web on Wednesday night, and recieved it Friday. Great!

Well, the happiness didn't last long.

I opened the statutory brown box, to find some large bubble-pak on top of the board box.

The board box had sticky tape marks on it.
The board box was ripped along it's hinge.
The CD was covered in scratches.
The ide lead bag had been opened.
There were marks on the booklet.
The motherboard bag seal was broken.
The MSI authentication sticker wasn't even there.

Suffice to say, I wasn't going to attempt to even try the board!

All the cables, booklet, etc, was left floating on top of the motherboard - there was no cardboard spacer.

Sounds like I had a return?

:(

I rang them up, got a helpful woman who said it sounds like I had a returned board, and then gave me a RMA number.

I shall keep you informed.

Anyone else have any hardware purchase horrors?

GillianChung
10-03-2002, 02:56
chunky, that's why i have been worried about buying over the internet. you don't get to see what you get and if you get the wrong items, you'll need to spend the time to take care of the problem.

has anyone else had any other online shopping horror stories like this one?

mrplow
10-03-2002, 03:59
Gotta say, thats pretty f*ed up. I used to get stuff from simply, before the whole online buying craze, and never really enjoyed the experience.

I have never had a problem with buying things online. I do it all the time, even from private traders, and have not *YET* (touch wood) had any bad luck.

I can only recommend dabs.com, tekheads.co.uk, overclockingstore.co.uk, buy.com, pclincs.co.uk
... these ppl I have used a lot, and all times have been happy

Druid
10-03-2002, 04:43
I use a few suppliers & as of yet not had any problems in the 3 years I have been buying online.

Here are the good sites I have found.

http://www.komplett.co.uk/
http://www.eclipse-computers.com/
http://www.ebuyer.com/

*edit* mrplow: removed your session ID from the ebuyer link, not really needed i feel ;)

mrplow
11-03-2002, 12:55
I would also recommend http://www.ebay.co.uk

yes, eBay, the auction site. you can get some good deals, or flog old kit, and the 9 or so ppl I have dealed with I have had no problems whatsoever.

:)

Druid
12-03-2002, 09:14
Opps Me was in muppet mode me thinks :dead:

mrplow
12-03-2002, 11:08
thats a mode?